The Host

  • IUGG

National Geophysical Research Institute (CSIR-NGRI), a premier Earth Science Laboratory under the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, Ministry of Science & Technology, Government of India, was established in 1961. The institute has about 100 scientists and about 300 technical, administrative and support staff. It has served the nation for more than five decades through its multidisciplinary research programs that also impact the society and industry. The areas covered by the research programs include exploration of natural resources, earthquake hazard assessment, lithospheric studies, exploration and management of groundwater resources and geo-environment. The Magnetic Observatories of the institute were set up as early as 1964, while the Seismological Observatory was set up in 1967.

In 2021, CSIR-NGRI will be commemorating its Diamond Jubilee through various events. It is befitting to have IAGA-IASPEI 2021 Joint Scientific Assembly in the diamond jubilee year of CSIR-NGRI, which shall provide a remarkable opportunity for discussing and working for future direction of geoscience research.